Vestry Nomination Committee 2021

  Posted on   by   No comments

Your Vestry is working to remove any mystery about what a Vestry is, what it does, and how Vestry members are chosen.

In the Episcopal Church the governing body of a parish has several parts: the Rector/Provisional Priest in Charge; four officers; and the nine vestry members.

The officers are: two Wardens (Anthony Howard Crisci and George Anderson); a Clerk, or secretary, (Sandy Bria); and co-treasurers (Anthony Howard Crisci and Chris Spiegelman). The officers are elected at the Annual Parish Meeting. The Wardens are elected for one-year terms, and may serve three consecutive terms. The Clerk and Treasurer are elected for one-year terms, and have no term limits.

In addition to the elected Officers there are also nine elected Vestry persons, serving in three groups of three years, and elected at the Annual Parish Meeting.

At our Annual Parish Meeting we will also elect two delegates to our Diocesan Convention. Our two delegates, Jen Hudson and James McNutt, are eligible for re-election. They have each served two years of a three-year term.

Our parish bylaws call for a Nominating Committee composed of the two or three retiring Vestry members, and two additional parishioners. Their responsibility is to present a slate of officers, three vestry persons, and two delegates to the Annual Meeting for election by the parish. This year’s nominating committee is chaired by Carol Custus, joined by retiring vestry member Lynn Ryan. Audrey Cozzarin and Gail Bindley-Taylor complete the committee this year.

Please read the linked Vestry position description, and, as you read, consider who you think might be a potential vestry person. Names may be submitted to our chairperson, Carol Custus, or Fr. Daniel by November 30, 2021.

We have begun our work, and ask that you keep us in your prayers, as you pray for St. Paul’s.

Categories: Uncategorized